Baseball on TV vs. Radio

One of the greatest feelings in the world is emerging from the concourse of a baseball stadium and seeing the green grass on the field. Players take their positions, fans cheer, and peanuts are thrown around. Nothing compares to experiencing a baseball game right in front of you.

However, most fans rely on television and radio to get their baseball fix because attending every game is hardly realistic (no matter how much we’d like to think a “Fever Pitch” scenario is possible). So there lies the debate. Do baseball fans like watching the sport on TV or listening to it on the radio.

Personally, my favorite way to experience baseball is to put the game on TV, mute the volume, and put on music. I like to watch the game but I watch it without the announcers’ commentary to allow myself to have my own thoughts about the plays. 

Recently, my cable subscription no longer includes the Red Sox baseball carrier, NESN. Thus, I have turned to the radio to get my Red Sox fix. And while I love hearing Joe Castiglione’s voice over my radio, I can’t help but feel like something is missing when I listen to the games. I like to see the players and see their interactions.

However, radio does allow you to make fantastic pictures in your head about what is going on on the field, like reading a book or listening to a story. I’ve seen people listen to the game on the radio while they sit in the ballpark! It allows the fan to be much more in-tune to the game without the distraction of their surroundings.

I will admit, when Don Orsillo left the NESN broadcast booth to cover the San Diego Padres, my heart broke a little. I’m happy for Don but Red Sox nation was sad to see him go. Proving that the announcer truly has a large role in the fan’s experience of a baseball game.

So which is better? Watching baseball on TV or listening to it on the radio? Each have their pros and cons. Each impact the fans’ experiences in a different way.

Author: thesoxsweetheart

Just a Red Sox enthusiast whose life is in Southeastern Massachusetts but whose heart is at Fenway Park

Leave a Reply

